Bob Schieffer ’59 receives Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism

2012_Bob_SchiefferSchieffer School of Journalism namesake Bob Schieffer ’59 will add another major award to his career when he is named the winner of Arizona State University’s 2013 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism.Schieffer said he was honored to be recognized with an award named after his role model.

“Walter Cronkite is who I wanted to be when I was a young reporter,” Schieffer said. “He is who I still want to be so winning an award with Walter’s name on it means as much to me as any recognition I have ever received.”

Schieffer will accept the award, given by the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, at a ceremony Oct. 29 in Phoenix, Ariz.

“Schieffer epitomizes great broadcast journalism in the best tradition of Walter Cronkite,” said Christopher Callahan, dean of the Cronkite School. “We’re thrilled to present him with this award and to have him share with our students some of what he has learned over a long and sterling career.”

Previous Cronkite Award recipients include TV anchors Brian Williams, Diane Sawyer and Tom Brokaw, newspaper journalists Ben Bradlee, Helen Thomas and Bob Woodward and media executives Katharine Graham, Al Neuharth and Bill Paley.

The award will be Schieffer’s third major award of 2013, including the Distinguished Service Award from the National Association of Broadcasters and being named to the TV Hall of Fame.

A member of the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame, Schieffer has seven Emmy Awards, one of which was for Lifetime Achievement, and two Sigma Delta Chi Awards. The National Press Foundation named him Broadcaster of the Year in 2002; the Radio-Television News Directors Association presented him in 2003 with the Paul White Award, which also recognizes lifetime contributions to electronic journalism.

Named a “Living Legend” by the Library of Congress, Schieffer is also the recipient of the Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment award from the Radio Television News Directors Association.

Schieffer is the network’s chief Washington correspondent and also serves as anchor and moderator of “Face the Nation,” CBS News’ Sunday public affairs broadcast. He contributes regularly to “The CBS Evening News,” where he served as interim anchor in 2005 and 2006.

Schieffer has moderated three presidential debates (2004, 2008 and 2012) and has covered every presidential campaign and been a reporter or anchor at every Democratic and Republican national convention since 1972. Schieffer also is one of the few journalists to have covered all four major beats in the nation’s capital – the White House, the Pentagon, the State Department and Capitol Hill.