Four individuals win Ferrari Award

Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr. has selected four winners for this year’s Michael J. Ferrari Award for Distinguished University Service and Leadership. Michael Butler, Chuck Dunning and Ebony Rose (nominated as a team) and Victoria Herrera share this year’s award spotlight.

Michael Butler

Butler, associate professor of economics and associate dean of the AddRan College of Liberal Arts, exceeds his regular responsibilities by serving as chair of the TCU Undergraduate Council and as associate marshal of commencement. Butler is a published author whose scholarly interests include microeconomic theory and the economics of sports. He earned a bachelor’s degree from Emory University, a master’s degree from Georgia State University and a Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Chuck Dunning

Dunning and Rose have been teaming up for years to address difficult conversations in our nation and on our campus, and created the intentional dialogue training that provides an opportunity for faculty and staff to talk meaningfully about issues of conflict.

Dunning serves as the director of Senior Year Experience and facilitator of the well-being initiative for the University. He is an adjunct faculty member in the TCU College of Education, and he writes poetry and enjoys photography. Dunning is a graduate of the University of North Texas.

Ebony Rose

Rose earned a bachelor’s degree from Southwestern University in Georgetown and a master’s degree from New York University. She has more than seven years of experience in student affairs, including campus programming, anti-hazing, risk-management and organization advisement. Rose has served as the director of TCU Student Organizations since 2015.

Victoria Herrerra

Herrera is responsible for the Community Scholar program and works closely with counselors at 11 area schools to encourage their highest-achieving students to apply to TCU. Her contact with the students doesn’t stop with their admission, Herrera continues to mentor them throughout their years at TCU. Herrera earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas at Arlington and a master’s degree at TCU before joining the TCU Office of Admission in 2001.

Established by the TCU Board of Trustees to honor the University’s ninth chancellor, the Ferrari Award recognizes a TCU faculty or staff member for exemplary service above and beyond one’s job duties. The award calls attention to an individual’s extraordinary leadership accomplishments, such as designing a new initiative or transforming the quality of an administrative or academic unit.