TCU football star LaDainian Tomlinson to be inducted into College Football Hall of Fame today

LaDainian Tomlinson, former TCU running back, 1997-2000, has been selected to join the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame. Tomlinson, a Heisman Trophy finalist and former NFL star, will be recognized along with 13 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches at an induction ceremony on Dec. 9 in New York City.

The inductees were selected from the national ballot of 75 All-America players and six elite coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and the 87 players and 26 coaches from the divisional ranks.

LaDainian Tomlinson is the 11th Horned Frog to be chosen for the College Football Hall of Fame and the first since center Darrell Lester in 1988.

LT_WebCropTomlinson, known as LT, was a unanimous first-team All-American and Heisman Trophy finalist in 2000 and a two-time NCAA rushing leader in 1999 and 2000. For 15 years, he held the NCAA record for most rushing yardage in a half (287) and a game (406).

TCU Football rose to modern-day national prominence with Tomlinson leading the charge. The Horned Frogs won back-to-back Western Athletic Conference championships, won the Mobile Alabama Bowl and climbed as high as No. 9 in the Associated Press rankings during LT’s junior and senior seasons.

Among his many other achievements, he was the recipient of the Doak Walker Award as the nation’s top running back in 2000, and was named the Most Valuable Player in the Mobile Alabama Bowl in 2000 and the Senior Bowl in 2001.

“LT was a great player for TCU and in the NFL,” TCU head football coach Gary Patterson said. “Even more, he’s been a great ambassador for our University. He represents what’s great about the game of football.”

ILT_HallofFame_webn 2005, LT returned to TCU to finish his bachelor’s degree in communications, fulfilling a promise he had made to his mother. In 2011, he was recognized with the Frog O’Fame alumni award.

Tomlinson was the fifth overall pick in the 2001 NFL draft and spent nine seasons with the San Diego Chargers, and later with the New York Jets. In 2003, he became the first player in NFL history to rush for 1,000 yards and record 100 receptions in the same season. In 2006, Tomlinson was named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player. He reached his 50th career touchdown in his fourth season and was elected to the Pro Bowl team in 2002, 2004, 2005 and 2006.

Yet Tomlinson considers his work off the field his greatest success, particularly his work with children. His charitable initiatives include the Tomlinson’s Touching Lives Foundation that helps families in need, Camp LT for kids and the LT Celebrity Golf Tournament.

Learn more about LT’s career at TCU at

TCU’s College Football Hall of Fame Members
(By Year of Induction)

Ki Aldrich, Center, 1960
Sam Baugh, Quarterback, 1951
Madison A. Bell, Coach, 1955
Darrell Lester, Center, 1988
Bob Lilly, Defensive Tackle, 1981
Rags Matthews, End, 1971
Dutch Meyer, Coach, 1956
Davey O’Brien, Quarterback, 1955
Francis Schmidt, Coach, 1971
Jim Swink, Halfback, 1980
LaDainian, Tomlinson, Tailback, 2014

#GetStarted   #FrogForLife   #BleedPurple

Share your stories, photos and posts with us. Follow the conversation on Tagboard.