More than 700 scheduled to graduate Saturday

10861108_10155508653980065_7053429041643455722_oDegrees from Texas Christian University and Brite Divinity School will be presented to 782 students during Fall Commencement ceremonies at 1 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 19, in the Ed and Rae Schollmaier Arena on the TCU campus. Students will receive their diplomas from Chancellor Victor J. Boschini Jr. The Chancellor also will deliver the Commencement address.

Of the total number of degree candidates, 559 are bachelor’s degrees, 145 graduate degrees, nine Brite Divinity degrees and 69 doctoral degrees. Vicente Fox, Mexico’s president from 2000-2006, will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws degree.

The total includes 30 international students, representing 18 countries. There are 585 students from Texas while another 167 graduates hale from 35 other states.

Faculty awards will be presented prior to conferring degrees to graduates. Nominees for this year’s Deans’ Research or Creativity Award are Morgan Swink (Neeley School of Business), Michelle Bauml (College of Education), Brian Clinnin (College of Fine Arts), Jennifer Watson (Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences), John T. Harvey (AddRan College of Liberal Arts-Social Sciences), Darren Middleton (AddRan College of Liberal Arts-Humanities) and Amanda Hale (College of Science & Engineering).

Nominees for the 2014 Deans’ Teaching Award are Suzanne M. Carter (Neeley School of Business), Stephen Levering (Bob Schieffer College of Communication), Mike Sacken (College of Education), Lori Diel (College of Fine Arts), James Petrovich (Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences), Charlotte Hogg (AddRan College of Liberal Arts-Humanities) and Steven Weis (College of Science & Engineering).

David J. Gouwens is the recipient of both the Louise Clark Brittan Endowed Teaching Award, given by the Brite Divinity School student body to recognize superlative teaching performance, and the Catherine Saylor Hill Endowed Faculty Excellence Award, presented by Brite Divinity School faculty to recognize excellence in teaching, scholarship and service.