Schieffer School student media win top awards

The Charles E. Star Award is given to a college news organization for the first time

TCU 360, the TCU Daily Skiff, Image magazine and individual TCU student media journalists received several notable awards in the month of April. These awards, presented by the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors, Society of Professional Journalists and the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association, recognized exceptional work published in 2012.

The staff at TCU Daily Skiff and TCU 360 won the Charles E. Star Award, the top breaking news award for statewide newspapers with circulations under 10,000, from the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors, marking the first time a college news organization has earned this honor.

Image magazine and four student journalists received regional first place 2012 Mark of Excellence awards from the Society of Professional Journalists. Image won the top honor for best student magazine. Ryan Osborne won first place in both the SPJ sports writing and sports column categories in the top division, and he was the national winner in sports column writing.

Other first place winners included Madison Pelletier and Landon Haaf in television breaking news reporting and J.D. Moore in television feature photography.

In addition, TCU Student Media individuals and staffs were recognized with 46 awards at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association annual convention in Fort Worth. The TCU 360 news website, the TCU Daily Skiff newspaper, TCU News Now newscast and Image magazine earned 12 first-place awards in the previously published and on-site competition categories.

First place awards went to the Image staff for overall design for the general magazine category; Brett Musslewhite for sports non-feature television story; Madison Pelletier for news non-feature television story; the TCU Daily Skiff staff for special edition/section of newspaper; Bailey McGowan, Lexy Cruz and Andrea Masenda for best breaking news online; Lily Lamas for Spanish TV announcing in an on-site competition; and Ryan Osborne for Division I Reporter of the Year. For more information, visit the Schieffer School website.