TCU Board of Trustees announces new leadership

Texas Christian University’s Board of Trustees recently elected Mark L. Johnson chairman of the Board of Trustees. He replaces outgoing chairman Clarence Scharbauer III, whose term concludes May 31, 2017. Highlights of Scharbauer’s tenure include TCU’s entrance into the Big 12 Conference; the Intellectual Commons on the east side of the campus, featuring the newly renovated Mary Couts Burnett Library and Rees-Jones Hall; and the partnership to establish the TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine.

Mark L. Johnson

Johnson earned the A.B. degree in economics from Duke University and is a principal and portfolio manager with Luther King Capital Management in Fort Worth. A Chartered Financial Analyst, he is also a Chartered Investment Counselor and a member of the CFA Society of Dallas-Fort Worth. Johnson is president of the Amon G. Carter Foundation and vice president of the board of the Amon Carter Museum of American Art. Elected to the TCU Board of Trustees in 2002, he recently chaired the committee to build the Ed and Rae Schollmaier Arena. He is a Sustainer of the Addison & Randolph Clark Society and a member of the Chancellor’s Council.

Kit Tennison Moncrief

Kit Tennison Moncrief, active Fort Worth community leader, was elected vice chair of the Board. She is president of the board of directors of the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame, co-chair of the Fort Worth Zoo board and vice president of the board of trustees of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Foundation, among others.

The Board of Trustees also approved the Facilities Master Plan, a tool that demonstrates the physical capacity of the campus and aligns with the university’s strategic plans. The master plan lays out a descriptive, not prescriptive, approach and outlines principles for campus growth, including pedestrian-friendly spaces.