TCU expects to graduate 1,873 Saturday at Spring Commencement

grad 13

Texas Christian University expects to bestow degrees on 1,873 students at its spring Commencement in two formal ceremonies held in Fort Worth Convention Center on May 9. The number is significant, as 1873 is the year TCU was founded. Students will receive their diplomas from Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr.

Of the total number of degree candidates, 1,498 will receive bachelor’s degrees (23 will receive double degrees), 315 will receive master’s degrees and 42 are Ph.D. candidates. Of those graduating, 582 students will receive Latin Honors, including 10 with a 4.0 GPA. Brite Divinity School will graduate 18 students during the ceremony. There are 1,196 graduates from within Texas, and 579 students from 45 other states. Ninety-eight international students will graduate, hailing from 29 different countries. Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr. will deliver the Commencement address for both ceremonies.

The morning ceremony will consist of 933 candidates receiving degrees from AddRan College of Liberal Arts, College of Fine Arts, Neeley School of Business and University Programs.

Graduating seniors Eric Heatley and Elizabeth (Libby) Taussig will lead the singing of a hymn and the TCU Alma Mater. The TCU Commencement Band, under the direction of Bobby R. Francis, Brian Youngblood and Jeremy Strickland, will play. Alumni from the class of 1965 will be in attendance, celebrating the 50th anniversary of their graduation.

In the afternoon ceremony, 940 students will represent the Bob Schieffer College of Communication, College of Education, College of Science & Engineering and Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences. Brite Divinity School will graduate 18 students. Kenneth F. Bunting will receive an Honorary Doctor of Letters, posthumously. His widow, Juli, and son, Maxwell, will take part in the afternoon ceremony and accept on his behalf. In addition, Dr. Molly Hand Weinburgh, professor of science education in the TCU College of Education, will be recognized for being named a Piper Professor for 2015 by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation, one of only 10 honorees in Texas.

In addition to Chancellor Boschini and Provost Nowell Donovan, the platform party will include Rev. Angela Kaufman, minister to the University, as well as vice chancellors, deans and Cabinet members. TCU Board of Trustee members Clarence Scharbauer, Eddie Clark, Rafael Garza, Teresa Davis-McKee, Mark Johnson, Ron Parker, Joan Rogers and Roger Williams will attend.

For detailed information on parking, seating options, maps and more, visit the Commencement website, where the event will be live-streamed.