TCU football coach and players take top honors in Big 12 awards

10603633_982271638454227_2820825801941659077_nThe Peach Bowl-bound Horned Frogs continue to add accolades to an already impressive football season.

Gary Patterson, TCU’s all-time winningest coach (131-45 record), was named the 2014 Home Depot Coach of the Year, the Big 12 Associated Press (AP) Coach of the Year and the Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year. Under his leadership, the TCU football team went from a 4-8 finish last year to an 11-1 finish and a Big 12 championship title this year.

Patterson won the AP Coach of the Year Award by a landslide, picking up 17 of 20 votes in the AP balloting. He will be presented with the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award as a part of The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11, at 7 p.m. ET, on ESPN.

10805613_981569398524451_6160357088774387770_nThe Big 12 head coaches also selected TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin as the Conference Offensive Player of the year and linebacker Paul Dawson as the Defensive Player of the Year. With Dawson’s selection, TCU has had the Conference Defensive Player of the Year in each of the last seven seasons.

Seventeen Horned Frogs received All-Big 12 recognition. Joining Boykin and Dawson as first-team picks were safety Chris Hackett and place-kicker Jaden Oberkrom. Second-team selections were safety Sam Carter, wide receiver Josh Doctson, tailback Aaron Green, center Joey Hunt, defensive tackle Chucky Hunter, offensive tackle Halapoulivaati Vaitai and cornerback Kevin White. Honorable-mention accolades went to return specialists B.J. Catalon and Cameron Echols-Luper, offensive tackle Tayo Fabuluje, safety Derrick Kindred, wide receiver Kolby Listenbee and defensive tackle Davion Pierson.

1939671_982764348404956_1806832916727785833_nGo Frogs! Riff Ram!

#BleedPurple  #TCUleads

Share your stories, photos and posts with us. Follow the conversation on Tagboard.