TCU graduated 774 Saturday at Fall Commencement

August and December degree candidates participate in ceremony

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 19, 2015) – Texas Christian University today bestowed degrees on 774 students at its Fall Commencement, graduating students from 35 states, including Texas, and 18 foreign countries in a formal ceremony held in the Ed and Rae Schollmaier Arena on the TCU campus. Students received their diplomas from Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr.

Chancellor Boschini delivered the commencement address. The University also today conferred an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree to Vicente Fox, who served as Mexico’s president from 2000-2006.

Through his experiences as both a head of state and a businessman, Vicente Fox has emerged as one of the world’s most important voices on the contemporary geopolitical landscape and the role of business in the developing world. In 2011, TCU announced a new partnership with President Fox to host The Vicente Fox Forum of World Leaders at TCU. The Fox Forum focuses on facilitating connections between former world leaders with college and high school students to encourage leadership development among youth and provide them with a glimpse of presidential leadership. President Fox was the forum’s inaugural speaker and through his political connections, many former international heads of state have been brought to the TCU campus.

Besides those receiving bachelor’s degrees, there were 144 master’s degree candidates, 69 doctoral candidates and nine Brite Divinity School graduate candidates. One hundred nineteen graduated with Latin Honors: 62 cum laude, 43 magna cum laude and 14 summa cum laude. Three students received double degrees.

The University also recognized professors for their outstanding teaching and quality research or creativity. Nominees for the Deans’ Creativity or Research Award include Morgan Swink (Neeley School of Business), Michelle Bauml (College of Education), Brian Clinnin (College of Fine Arts), Jennifer Watson (Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences), John T. Harvey (AddRan College of Liberal Arts-Social Sciences), Darren Middleton (AddRan College of Liberal Arts-Humanities) and Amanda Hale  (College of Science & Engineering). Swink, Harvey and Middleton won the $2,500 award for producing the highest quality research or creative activity over the last several years.

Nominees for the 2015 Deans’ Teaching Award include Suzanne M. Carter (Neeley School of Business), Stephen Levering (Bob Schieffer College of Communication), Mike Sacken (College of Education), Lori Diel (College of Fine Arts), James Petrovich (Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences), Charlotte Hogg (AddRan College of Liberal Arts-Humanities) and Steven Weis (College of Science & Engineering). Carter, Petrovich and Weis won the $2,500 award, which is voted on by their peers, for dedicated teaching.

David J. Gouwens received both the Louise Clark Brittan Endowed Teaching Award and the Catherine Saylor Hill Endowed Faculty Excellence Award.

For more information on TCU’s commencement ceremony, visit