TCU Student Media win 33 awards in TIPA competition

The news staffs of TCU Student Media received 33 awards for journalistic excellence, including the sweepstakes category in television, at the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention in San Antonio. The awards, which covered previously-published content in 2013 and live contests earlier in the week, were announced Saturday, April 12. TIPA, founded in 1909, is the nation’s oldest and largest college state college media association.

The TCU News Now television newscast won 11 awards overall, including the sweepstakes award and second place in the best overall newscast. The staff of the Skiffx360 newspaper and its predecessor, The TCU Skiff, won 12 awards overall, and were named second-place in overall excellence in the overall excellence category in the Division 1 category for large universities. Image magazine won nine awards, including second place in overall design.


Staff – Sweepstakes Award; second place, best overall newscast; first place, sportscast; second place, sportscast

Colin Perry – first place, sports non-feature story

Kendall Morris – first place non-feature story

Taylor Prater – Chelsea Katz, Lauren Galippo, Joey McReynolds, first place, public affairs reporting

Tori Cummings – first place, sports feature story

Kendal Morris – first place, audition tape

Evan Recatune – third place, audition tape

Alex Apple – second place, sports feature story

Kendall Morris – honorable mention, news feature story

Newspaper Division 1:

Staff – second place, overall excellence

Ryan Osborne – first place, news feature story

Natasha Panchal – first place, photo illustration

Evan Recatune – first place, headline

Alex Apple – second place, sports feature story

Evan Recatune – third place, single subject presentation design

Ryan Osborne – third place, sports column

Matt Coffelt – second place, sports action photo

Chloe Coleman – second place, news story

Natasha Panchal – Alex Apple, HM, page one design

Katherine Love – second place, feature photo

Matt Jennings – honorable mention, sports news story.

General Magazine:

Staff – third place, overall excellence; second place, overall design

Jessica Nenow – second place, cover design

Brittany Henderson – first place, column/essay

Katherine Love – second place, feature story

Samantha Ehlinger – third place news feature story

Brighton Cook – second place, illustration

Daniel Ethridge – honorable mention, feature photo

Samantha Ehlinger – Jessica Nenow, honorable mention, story package.

Live Reporting:

Grant McGalliard – second place, sports reporting